Landlubber here.  I wanted to share this additional experience with our readers.  As our trip began, I quickly became interested in the large number of flags we were seeing on display on many, if not most, of the other boats we saw.  Our own boat, the Constantina, displayed the Greek flag, because that's where we rented it; but on each ship it is possible to raise a flag to represent the nation of the people on board, or any other flag they'd like to fly. 

I began to keep track of flags that we saw and would look them up when I had time and an internet connection. In the whole time we were sailing, we saw only one other American flag displayed and that was on a very large and expensive yacht in Spetses. I could speculate about why that might be, but I don't really know.  

Next time, we will have a flag of our own to proudly display.  Here is a list of the nations represented by flags that we saw displayed on other boats:  Austria, Finland, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Australia (probably more of these than any other), the British Union Jack, St. Vincent and Grenadines, France, Sweden, Norway, South Africa, Romania, Wales, Poland, Switzerland, Italy, Holland.

I guess this is the sailing equivalent of tracking license plates by state 
9/16/2017 04:20:07 am

This will definitely be very useful for me when I get a chance to start my blog

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All