It was a late morning for Sue and I... We slept until 9am! After a great dinner last night, with an enthusiastic Taverna owner who proudly asked each of us back into the kitchen to show us each of the dishes that had been prepared for the evening, explaining to us the ingredients and if we asked, what local fisherman or farmer he had bought them from. We tried fresh sardines grilled with lemon and olive oil sauce, olives and olive oil all grown right here. "Thomas" attracted me up to his restaurant as I walked back from the Leonidhion beach after a nice swim and some good rock hunting among the pebbles. "Come up and see what I have made, he says. My friend, where are you from? How did you come here? Look what I have made! Please! I have fresh lamb stew from the countryside, served with rice or spaghetti! Fresh beef meatballs! Stuffed peppers and tomatoes, all vegetarian no meat please. Please! I have fresh eggplant from the farms right here in town. We grow much eggplant here! I have fresh beef stew! And if you please! I have fresh fish, all sorts. Look here! In the cooler! Fresh mullets, small and large! Only 6 Euro small, 12 Euro large. Not expensive!  And please! Fresh sardines! Caught today and cooked on the grill with lemon and oil! And fresh squids, look here, caught today, very tender. And I have all pastas! Tsatziki! Greek salad, fresh cheese, lettuce salads. The best around! Come try! Now, my friend, come have a free drink, on the house, what do you like? Fresh orange juice? Here, sit down and try.

After all that, how could one refuse!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    July 2013

    Categories

    All